NEW RELEASES OUT NOW – Charles Barabé / Howl of the Lacerated / Andrew Paine / Toucan Lifecycle (four-way split cassette), Sky Sacrifice (double cassette), The Golden Gonk (new and comp cassettes), Green Shattered Dream (free download) and more!!


Tapes can be purchased through Discogs or directly through this site. To order through Discogs, please go here:

To order direct, please contact me at the following address with details of the titles you would like to purchase:



Charles Barabé / Howl of the Lacerated / Andrew Paine / Toucan Lifecycle – Split (Shack in the Barley Productions, shitbar148) – £4.00 (not including shipping)

Charles Barabé:

A1) Dialogue I (5:15)
A2) Dialogue II (5:08)
A3) Dialogue III (4:18)
A4) Dialogue IV (2:36)
A5) Dialogue V (4:34)

Howl of the Lacerated:

A6) Cry of the Decapitated (9:05)
A7) Wail of the Dismembered (9:42)

Andrew Paine:

B1) Fictional Worlds Are So Much Better (18:59)

Toucan Lifecycle:

B2) 10:43 (10:43)
B3) 9:17 (9:17)

Four-ways…you wait a year for one to come along, then by the next batch another has popped up OUTTA NOWHERE!!

Québec’s fantastic electric wizard Charles Barabé opens the show with a suite of glacial microtonal drones, sinister glitches, deserted school classroom piano tinklings AND MORE, before my own project Howl of the Lacerated brings the tone WAY down with a couple o’ scummed out paeans to atrocities committed whilst donning an unconvincing Sasquatch costume…on the flip we get a ginormous pearl of raw loopage, super-FX’d acid guitar and mutant RY9 rhythms from Sonic Oyster boss Andrew Paine, after which Katie Richie (of Unlikely Dreamfellows) brings things full circle with some glorious light and shade minimalism from her Toucan Lifecycle trip…

Yellow/red C90 cassette in a clear case with full colour artwork and tape labels, plus inserts.




Sky Sacrifice – “Pollinated Air Levitations” (Shack in the Barley Productions, shitbar149/150) – £4.50 (not including shipping)

A1) Blood Llama (7:35)
A2) Blue Flaming Face of a Feline (13:12)
A3) Heavenly Mansions (8:29)
B1) Barn of the Naked Dead (23:47)
B2) Slider Between Worlds II (4:27)
C1) Pirates of the Pineal Gland (9:03)
C2) Tapioca & Acid (8:19)
C3) Besombes & Bower in a Blender (9:25)
D1) New Age Werewolf Colony (4:08)
D2) Sacrificed to the Sky (21:53)

OK, I was late to the party- forever tardy, hovering in humidity…head in the clouds, but an eye on the prize…the funeral flowers were still fresh back then and the rocks fell thick and fast, awaiting times of glory…some corpses need exhuming, y’know…some have more to scream…

Two C60 cassettes (the first pink, the second blue) in a chunky double case with full colour artwork and tape labels, plus inserts.




The Golden Gonk – “The Best of the Self-Releases” (Shack in the Barley Productions, shitbar151) – £3.50 (not including shipping)

A1) Psychic Despondency (3:38)
A2) I Wish to Hold You Outside of My Dreams (Excerpt) (10:08)
A3) The Swish of a Ponytail (1998) (5:09)
A4) Hot Nights With a Hard Banana (Excerpt) (9:47)
A5) Tangerine Perfume (9:37)
B1) Hot Lunch (10:35)
B2) Muriel (Excerpt) (5:09)
B3) Strawberry Solstice (3:43)
B4) Pony of the Barley (4:58)
B5) Slivers of Time (With You in the Background) (12:28)

The ‘self-releases’ ostensibly sprouted from a crude electric seed, planted hastily in wax, one way-back winter afternoon, which brought forth a bumper crop of untold proportions!! This tape gathers together some of the tastiest treats harvested from that hidden hillside, shorn of all the soggy, rotten, rodent-nibbled bits!!

Violet C80 cassette in a clear case with full colour artwork and tape labels, plus an insert.




My Gonk Hates My Heroin – Untitled (Shack in the Barley Productions, shitbar152) – £3.50 (not including shipping)

A) Close Down & Coagulate (17:51)
B) Apparitions of the Italian Hills (16:37)

A fully raw session from a forgotten date…I silenced the clinking empties and closed the fucking door…dug up the disappointment and dumped it in the living room…those creatures like to shadow me- spectres of old Saturdays…sparks from an electrical resurrection…lank hair and DARK clothes…

Gold C40 cassette in a clear case with full colour artwork and tape labels, plus an insert.




The Gonk in Heat – “Flesh for Emmanuelle…Blood for Caligula” (Shack in the Barley Productions, shitbar153) – £3.00 (not including shipping)

A) Flesh for Emmanuelle (14:47)
B) Blood for Caligula (13:18)

Riffing, ripping, droning and scraping…sucking on those cycles for something to savour…wading in that decadence and playing dress-up with the detritus…exploiting aesthetics, no matter how grimy…

Red C30 cassette in a clear case with full colour artwork and tape labels, plus an insert.




Three French Roosters – “Sober Doberman Enjoys a Cemetery Sandwich – Year of the Rooster Edition” (Shack in the Barley Productions, shitbar071) – £3.50 (not including shipping)

A1) Three French Roosters (13:37)
A2) The Hymn Sheet (20:30)
B1) (A Shot At) Unity (9:41)
B2) The Pie Was Still Clucking as I Placed It in the Oven (4:50)
B3) Subtle Skull (20:17)

Yes, here it is again- the free MP3 smash of 2012 (15 downloads and counting!!) in a super exciting “in exchange for cash” tape cassette version!! Fully sanctioned by all the surviving members of this confrontational and obscene guerrilla folk noise unit, who notoriously laid waste to multiple impromptu ‘venues’ across a certain UK university campus in the early ’00s, this “Year of the Rooster Edition” comes complete with precisely ZERO extra material (at no extra cost!!)- how kind!! So, boys and girls- make sure you pick up a copy today and make EVERY year a “Year of the Rooster”!!

Yellow C75 cassette in a clear front/red back case with full colour artwork and tape labels, plus an insert.




Green Shattered Dream – “Dovestones (The Demos)” (Shack in the Barley Productions, shitbar155)

1) Snake Healing Tree of Heaven (2:19)
2) Pristine Christine (1:42)
3) Puff Adder (1:32)
4) Cook a Pig With Your Heart (2:19)
5) Jewel in a Hedge (1:19)
6) Burning Barrels of Barley Wine (2:24)
7) Creepy Beech (2:46)
8) Breast Black Mirror (2:18)
9) Apparitional Hieroglyphics (2:04)
10) Cobweb City and Comet Garden (2:13)
11) Lion Fed to Something Mystic (1:42)
12) Seven Levitations (2:51)
13) Winos on the Church Steps (2:58)

Ah…the green shattered dream…something to do with circuses and Alex Harvey, if I remember it right…all these songs were written circa late winter/early spring 2008, quite often in the dead of night, in-between frenzied last second bidding wars with ‘voiceofmuck’ on eBay (yeah- remember those?! I never won…no one did!!)…they’re full of the usual stuff- nostalgic ruminations…animals…weather girls (*always* weather girls)…the plan was to record ’em properly, but- whoops- there was no room at the inn on the 8-track back then, so they got no further than a warbly C90 (previously home to The Jam and Badfinger, apparently!!) and have remained unheard by humanoid ears since then…now all that changes, friends…

Download the zip file here (contains both the music and full artwork):

Size –  39.62 MB


As ever, thanks to everyone involved in this latest stellar batch and thanks to everyone who supports Shack in the Barley Productions by buying and/or downloading the releases!!

Still a bit more to come within 2017…more news soon…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s